Be Stitched Baking {Gluten-free Banana Muffins}

Most of the time lately, when I bake it is for a specific purpose:  a birthday, a party, for a new mom, etc.  Growing up and since I can remember, I always liked to bake.  I would page through my mom’s 5-subject wide-ruled crusty spiral notebook to find the exact recipe I was looking for.  The pages are covered in her handwriting, notecards from other people, and cut outs from magazines.  My sister has that recipe book now.  The pages are falling out and yellowing, flour is everywhere, sugar glues the pages together, and I absolutely love it!  Back then, I would bake because I enjoyed it.  I need to revisit this way of baking!

I must admit that the pages of my mom’s beloved recipe book resemble pages in a Paula Dean cookbook:  refined white flour, refined white sugar, oil, butter, and more refined white sugar.  I am daily trying to make better food choices for myself and the hubs, so I decided I could continue the tradition of baking recipes that are nostalgic to my childhood but that I could limit and/or eliminate the refined sugars, flours, and bad oils without inhibiting the flavor.

Don’t believe it is possible?  I have updated the old school banana bread recipe to a more health conscious version that is gluten-free, refined white sugar free, and oil free.  By baking in the muffin tin, you get a perfect portion too.  You can make this bread vegan by eliminating the eggs and substituting flax (more on that later).  Other variations:  add protein powder, nuts, etc.


{Gluten-free Banana Muffins}

1 c            sorghum flour

½ c          tapioca flour

¼ c          millet flour

¾ c          turbinado raw sugar | Whole Foods’ Everyday 365 brand works great

1 t            baking powder

½ t          baking soda

1 T           ground flax seed

1 ½ t       cinnamon

½ t          salt

1 c            very ripe mashed bananas (2 medium sized)

½ c          organic unsweetened applesauce

2              large eggs

1 t            chia seeds to top them off

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a 12-muffin muffin tin.  Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.  In a separate bowl or stand mixer, combine bananas, applesauce, sugar, and eggs.  Slowly add the flour mixture to the wet mixture until just combined.  Scoop into the lined muffin tin.  Sprinkle with chia seeds and cinnamon.  Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the tops are just browned.

These babies are delicious when they are warm out of the oven.  With a cup of coffee and a good book on a Saturday morning, they may be hard to beat.  And, you may just forget that they are better for you than the originals.  Keep extras for a day or two in a tightly sealed container.

Recipe modified from The Good Housekeeping Cookbook, Hearst Books, Copyright 2001 Hearst Communications, Inc.
Leave a Reply

