New Food Tuesday {Blenders and Bowls}

In June, I visited Hawaii with the hubs for TEN fabulous days!  We spent half of the time at a resort and the other half with a good friend of mine.  We hung out at beautiful beaches, went to Pearl Harbor, hiked, (he) played golf, (I) skydived, people watched, ate good food, and spent time with friends.  It was a great trip!  Of all of the meals I had in Hawaii, one stood out:  an acai (ah-sigh-ee) bowl!

The acai berry is a small deep red or purple berry that is high in antioxidents (higher than almost every other berry you can think of).  These berries are frozen and blended with other fruits such as strawberries and bananas.  Once blended, the bowl is topped with more fruit, nuts, hemp granola, honey, flax, goji berries, cacao nibs, etc.  A superfood lover’s dream!

Upon my return to Austin, I decided I needed to open up an acai bowl food truck.  I immediately started to google and research.  I have a ‘new business’ to start up about once per quarter, so this was no big news to the hubs.  My dreams were shot down in an instant!  There is already an acai bowl food truck and cafe in Austin!  It opened three months ago, and the two girls who started Blenders and Bowls are from Hawaii!  Lesley and I tried it out, and it is such a great little place!  Go show them some love!

5 thoughts on “New Food Tuesday {Blenders and Bowls}

    • Allena, it is downtown and wonderful! Also perfect when you don’t have much time and you want something healthy. I think you will love it….and your prego belly will thank you!

  1. Pingback: Breakfast, Bible, and Bowls « be stitched

Leave a Reply

