Gluten-free Peanut Butter Rice Crispie Treats

Growing up, my mom made rice crispie treats almost every year for my birthday.  Since my birthday is in January, she would make a huge batch and give them to my basketball team.  I still think I could eat an entire pan of these tasty treats in one sitting (yes, this is JP talking…not Lesley).  Don’t worry, I never have.  And I certainly don’t plan on starting now.  My mom made them with traditional rice crispies, lots of butter, and marshmallows.

I decided to make a batch for the Hubs’ students this week.  I wanted to try to make them a touch healthier, but I understand that most everything is okay in moderation.  That said, I made a batch with half the butter, added freshly ground peanut butter, and chocolate & peanut butter chips!  I don’t really feel like I should call this a recipe 1) because it is the easiest thing to make and 2) it has been printed on every box of rice krispies and every bag of marshmallows since the beginning of time…or maybe just since the beginning of processed foods.

(Are you sensing a theme lately with the recipes?  I love some chocolate and peanut butter.  And I LOVE them together!)

{Gluten-free Peanut Butter Rice Crispie Treats}

6 c gluten-free brown Rice Krispies cereal

1 bag (10 oz) marshmallows (Whole Foods has natural ones!)

2 T butter

1/3 c natural peanut butter

1/2 c chocolate & peanut butter chips (mixed)

Spray a 9 x 13 glass baking dish with non-stick spray.  In small bowl, melt the butter and peanut butter.  Pour the marshmallows in a giant microwave safe bowl, and pour the butter/PB mixture over the top.  Microwave for 2-3 minutes until the marshmallows are puffy.  Stir to combine all ingredients well.  Add the gluten-free rice krispies and mix well (and quickly)!  Stir in the chocolate and peanut butter chips, and press the mixture into your prepared baking dish.  Refrigerate for 30 minutes before cutting.

4 thoughts on “Gluten-free Peanut Butter Rice Crispie Treats

  1. Pingback: Rice Crispie Bars « Reflections with Rhonda

Leave a Reply

