Be Stitched Baking {Oven-fried Okra}

You know that ‘fun’ ice breaker game “If you were stuck on an island, and you could only eat one thing for the rest of your life, what would it be?”  I always say fried okra.  I could seriously eat it every day.  I have it only once or twice a year now, but growing up I ate it a lot.  In this recipe, I baked it to a crisp rather than frying it.  Oh, do you see the colander?  That was my grandma’s.  I love it!

{Oven Fried Okra}

1 carton of fresh okra

1 1/2 c  corn meal

2 eggs

1 T water or buttermilk

1/2 t salt

1/2 t garlic powder

1/2 t crushed red pepper

(basicallly, you can spice it up however you’d like)

——–

Preheat the oven to 475 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Chop up the okra to small bites.  In a medium bowl, whisk the two eggs with water or buttermilk.  I used water because I do not buy milk (sick).  In a gallon size zip lock bag, add the corn meal and spices.  Toss the okra around in the egg mixture.  Using a slotted spoon to let the excess drain, add the okra to the corn meal.  Zip up tightly and toss until coated.

Pour the okra onto the baking sheet and bake for 20-25 minutes, stiring every 5-10 minutes.  Keep a close watch on these as the temperature is quite high.

4 thoughts on “Be Stitched Baking {Oven-fried Okra}

  1. I think I may try it this way. I tried it baked a couple of weeks ago with cornmeal, salt and pepper and found it a little tough. Perhaps dipping it into eggs and buttermilk first will prevent the toughness.

    • I have also read if you dip in flour first, then egg mixture, and then cornmeal you get a crispier piece of okra. I just wanted to eliminate the flour altogether. Thanks for stopping by!

      –JP

Leave a Reply

