Be Stitched Baking {Gluten-free Apple Tart}

A few weeks ago at the gluten and allergy free expo, I met Karen Morgan.  Karen is the spunky owner of Blackbird Bakery in Austin.  I was glad to meet a fellow Austinite at the expo!  She explained to me the differences in her professional grade flour blends, and I was sold!  This was my first attempt to use her flour blends in my baking.  They didn’t disappoint.

The instructions on the package couldn’t be easier.  Add butter and eggs.  Viola!  Pastry dough!  I tweaked the instructions a bit.  I divided the flour in half so that I would still have some in the event my tweaks were disastrous (it has definitely happened).  Instead of butter, I used organic coconut oil.

{Gluten-free Apple Tart}

Crust:

1/2 (4.5 ounces) package of Blackbird Bakery Tart & Pie Crust Flour Blend

1/2 c organic coconut oil

1 egg

Topping:

2 Jazz apples (or whatever you have on hand)

1 lime, juiced

2 T almond flour

2 T turbinado

1 t cinnamon

1/2 t nutmeg

——-

In a stand mixer, blend flour, coconut oil, and the egg until just combined.  On a piece of waxed paper, knead the dough a few times until it is one solid piece of dough.

Wrap in waxed paper tightly and refrigerate for 10 minutes.

Using 2/3 of the dough, form into a tart crust in the bottom of a 9 inch round pan.  I put parchment paper down first to make removing it easy.

Bake the crust for 10 minutes with no toppings.  While this is baking, you can chop up the apples and mix with the lime juice, almond flour, turbinado, and spices.

With the last 1/3 of the dough, roll it out on waxed paper and cut shapes with a cookie cutter.  Add the apples to the crust and top of with the shapes.

Bake for an additional 15-20 minutes or until the apples are soft.

Note:  This is not a sugary sweet traditional pie.  This is a healthier tart.  You may be surprised at first when this doesn’t taste like old school apple pie, but I believe this healthy version is just as delicious!

3 thoughts on “Be Stitched Baking {Gluten-free Apple Tart}

Leave a Reply

