Be Stitched Baking {Chocolate Chip Cookies}

choc chip cookies 4

While out of town visiting my friend, Marie, she and I baked up this delicious batch of chocolate chip cookies.  I have had them before baked by my friend, Morgan.  They are crunchy on the outside and chewy gooeyness on the inside.  I will try to adapt them to a healthier and gluten-free version next.

These are some of the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever had.  The hubs always asks me when I give him something to taste test if they are “dirty”.  That is his code word for “bad for you”.  He thinks all the dirty cookies are better than my healthy ones.  Maybe I’ll start fibbing and telling him my healthy versions are dirty.  Yes, these are very dirty.  And you should probably make them. Tonight.  I wouldn’t recommend baking them with an empty house…you will eat them…all.  Marie sent me home with these; she didn’t want to keep them around!  My co-workers generally benefit from my obsessive baking.  Lucky them!

choc chip cookies 10

choc chip cookies 9

{Chocolate Chip Cookies}

Adapted from here.

Note:  We only made 1/3 of the dough that Morgan’s recipe makes.  We still came out with 45+ cookies.

  • 1/3 cup shortening
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp coarse sea salt
  • 2/3 bag dark chocolate

In a stand mixer, mix the shortening, butter, and sugars for three minutes.  Add the eggs and vanilla and mix seven minutes (I had never done this, but just go with it.)  In a separate bowl, mix the dry ingredients together (flour, baking soda, and salt).  Add 1/2 of the flour mixture to the butter mixture and mix. Then add the other 1/2 and mix.  Add in the chocolate chips and mix.  Refrigerate dough while oven preheats to 350.

Place rounded tablespoon sized balls of dough on an ungreased cookie sheet or silpat mat (I will be getting one of these soon!)  Bake at 350 degrees for 7-8 minutes or just until the cookies are barely golden.

choc chip cookies 5I realize this is generally a food blog, but can you see the poster in the background?  Marie framed this print from her trip to London this summer…you know, for the little sporting event they had.  Anyway, I’m pretty much in love with all things London, including this poster.  I’m hoping this poster clashes with something in her next house (preferably in Austin) so I can steal have it.


choc chip cookies 3

jp-signature2

One thought on “Be Stitched Baking {Chocolate Chip Cookies}

  1. Pingback: Give {Rolo Turtles} « be stitched

Leave a Reply

