30 for 30 {Half-way}

photo

Today marks the half-way point on my 30 for 30 goal.  This means I am almost 30!

I wanted to start the new year with a reboot.  During the holidays, way too much sugar (and flour and meat) was consumed!  For two weeks, I have been eating a whole-foods plant-based diet.

What does that mean exactly?

  • NO meat.  No yummy grilled chicken or sautéed tilapia.
  • NO dairy.  In general, I have an aversion to dairy…namely milk.  Sick.  I was very happy to exclude dairy…except…
  • NO cheese.  No cheesy nachos, no queso and chips, no Parmesan on a fabulous salad.
  • No eggs.  I can live with out eggs as a meal…but eggs are in a lot of other foods.

What the heck have you been eating?

  • LOTS of veggies.  Zucchini.  Spinach.  Edamame.  Bell Peppers.  Sweet Potatoes.  Broccoli.  Carrots.  Kale.  On…and…on…
  • WHOLE grains.  Wild brown rice.  Whole wheat orzo.  Quinoa.  Ezekiel bread.
  • BEANS.  Lentils.  Black beans.  Green beans.
  • SEEDS and NUTS.
  • NUT butters.
  • GREEN smoothies.  Fruits.  Nuts.  Spinach.  Chia.  Flax.  Coconut oil.  Maca.  Vegan protein powder.  Amazing Grass.

Throughout the past two weeks that began on December 26th, I have been jotting down general observations and thoughts about this way of eating.  I will compile them at the end of my 30 for 30 journey.  Until then, I’ll be enjoying my last days as a Twenty-Something!  Bring it on 30!

4 thoughts on “30 for 30 {Half-way}

  1. Pingback: Easy Dinner {Black Bean Spinach Bowl} « be stitched

  2. Pingback: Sweet Tooth {Edamame and Berries} « be stitched

Leave a Reply

